Canada 150

Happy Canada Day!

I am super stoked for this Canada Day, like cheer the national anthem at the top of my lungs excited. I mean I actually really like Canada Day every year, I’m proud to be Canadian plus it’s always just a day filled with fun and celebration. But this year is a big one, and it’s my first big milestone type of Canada Day celebration; it has been hyped since like the beginning of the year and now it’s finally time and I couldn’t be happier. Seriously, I’m like smiling right now while writing this. It’s Canada’s 150th Anniversary and it is big deal, I mean on a global scale we are a very young nation and even if our population is really small, our hearts are still strong.

We may be known for apologizing, maple syrup, ‘eh,’ polar bears, forests, peace, hockey and our ‘adorable’ terms, like toque and toonie, not to mention the loonie, but there is still so much more to us. Besides Canada being one of the safest countries in the world and having free health care there is a lot to be proud of. We are one of the most educated countries in the world, patriotism, great tap water, Santa Claus is actually a Canadian citizen, the invention of chocolate milk and basketball, the list really can go on. What I love is the evolution, I mean our history isn’t perfect, even dark at times, but change was demanded and made. Now Canada is one of the most multicultural and accepting, whether it be gender, sexuality, religion, and so on, countries in the world. Like I mentioned we are flawed but evolving and I feel like as time passes there is only more to love about being a Canadian.

In honor of the occasion, I even spent hours hunting down for the perfect Canada Day shirt and a one time only Canada 150 memento. Turns out the excitement turned into a near Canada Day slash tourist in her homeland shopping spree. If I’m being honest though I have no regrets, how can one deny some national pride.

Leave a Reply

