Girl Meets World S02E26

Image result for girl meets stem,Girl Meets STEM – Riley questions her role, and the role of boys and girls generally,  during a pairs, science experiment. The objective is that one of the partners return to drop a ‘mystery marble’ into a clear solution so the next day the other partner can analyze the result to figure out how to turn the solution clear again. Riley becomes upset when she sees that the boys have left the girls to do the easy part while they do the science; this makes her angry and thus she refuses to drop the marble. This results in divide between the boys and girls the next class followed by Riley making a speech about feminism to her fellow female classmates but also them learning from Topanga that women tend to actually drift away from STEM subjects because essentially it’s not what is expected of them but that fact shouldn’t stop them from trying and dreaming. The divide between the boys and girls continues to the next day where Riley and the other call out the males for not believing in them enough to do science. Farkle is the first to apologize for making Riley feel that way, but during science class, the rest of the students are still divided. But after a sludge filled mishap amends are made and then their science teacher explains that experience was actually about the mystery marble, which was actually mud, but about the fact that girls beginning to drift away from science; he wanted to raise hope and awareness for the potential that every girl, and boy, equally have.

As I have mentioned before I am science girl, but until university, I didn’t understand how uncommon that was. Maybe in high school, I saw it a bit, how in my science class there were only several girls and a majority guys but I always wrote it off as there were more guys in the school than girls; I never actually checked but I always presumed.

It’s not like I never witnessed the prejudice and the judgments of how I was a girl and shouldn’t be in science or dream of being in medicine, I mean I dealt with that in my own house. But I didn’t really care, I’ve always known I want a job in healthcare and it really angered me when someone tried to stop that or discourage it.

I love science, I really love every aspect of it from the question to the process to the discovery, I love it all. I never saw it as a boy versus a girl thing, I always just considered it as fact for me.

Image result for girl meets stem,

Leave a Reply

